Purple Is The New Black

June 14, 2016 by Robert Lindquist


Here’s a little news item that crossed my desk last week that is sure to be of interest to Prince fans and vinyl collectors alike.

On August 12th, Time-Life will be releasing a limited run of Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Live – Vol. #1 —Pressed on purple vinyl in Honor of the Rock & Roll Hall of Famer. The LP features Prince’s three-minute-long blistering solo on “While My Guitar Gently Weeps,” with Tom Petty, Jeff Lynne, Steve Winwood and Dhani Harrison. The track was recorded during Prince’s own induction into the R&R HOF by a 23 year-old Alicia Keys. The video went viral following his Prince’s passing, and has now racked up nearly 29 million views.  You can download the music video for a buck 99 on iTunes.

Along with “While My Guitar Gently Weeps,” the forthcoming purple pressing spotlights performances from Bruce Springsteen & the E Street Band, Cream, Steve Winwood, Metallica, Jeff Beck, Jimmy Page, Ron Wood, Joe Perry, Green Day, James Taylor, Al Green, Chuck Berry and more. Songs include “Johnny Be Goode,” “Tenth Avenue Freeze Out,” “A Change is Gonna Come,” “Train Kept a Rollin,'” “Ironman,” “Woodstock,” “Blitzkrieg Bop” and “Can’t Get No Satisfaction.” (Track Listing below).

Expected to be highly collectible, the album will retail for $25.98 wherever vinyl records are sold, including Barnes & Noble


Side One 
  • Johnny B. Goode” – Chuck Berry with Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band (1995)
  • “Tenth Avenue Freeze-Out” — Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band (1999)
  • “A Change is Gonna Come” – Al Green (1995)
  • “The Train Kept A-Rollin'” – Jeff Beck, Jimmy Page, Ron Wood, Joe Perry, Flea and Metallica (2009)
  • “Iron Man” – Metallica (2006) 
Side Two 
  • “Woodstock” – James Taylor (1997)
  • “Sunshine of Your Love” – Cream (1993)
  • “Blitzkrieg Bop” – Green Day
  • “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” – Mick Jagger, Bruce Springsteen and the Rock Hall Jam Band (1988)
  • “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” – Tom Petty, Jeff Lynne, Steve Winwood, Dhani Harrison and Prince (2004) 


Robert Lindquist Robert Lindquist (39 Posts)

Robert Lindquist has been involved in the DJ profession since 1967, when he built a make-shift sound system from spare parts in order to provide music for a birthday party. From that point on, he supplemented his day-jobs in radio, TV and advertising by DJ’ing in clubs and for weddings and corporate events. In 1987, he was encouraged to share his DJ experience in writing, which led to the release of “Spinnin’” at the initial DJ Times Expo in Atlantic City.Recognizing the need for a publication dedicated to Mobile DJs, he created Mobile Beat “The DJ magazine” in 1990. In addition to still being a sound tech and DJ/MC for weddings, he is a producer of video content writes for several audio publications and blogs. He is also a partner in Las Vegas based Level 11 Media, which maintains several Web sites and digital publications for musicians and touring sound engineers and is an IMDb listed actor and voice talent.

Filed Under: Playlists, Songs & Music Charts, Robert Lindquist